Petersburg Pilot -


2012 State of Alaska Primary Election results are in


Orin Pierson

Volunteer Election Officials Naomi Welde, Sonja Whitethorn, Cathy Harris, and Lynda Fredericksen conducted the Primary Election in the Community Gym and Pool lobby on Tuesday.

The November general election contests for Alaska are set, barring any significant changes from absentee or questioned ballots. The results of this election are not official until those are counted.

Congressman Don Young took a little over 78 percent of the vote in the Republican U.S. House primary, while Democratic state Representative Sharon Cissna took the majority of votes against her four opponents.

Orin Pierson

Volunteer Polly Koeneman gives an "I voted today" sticker to a Petersburg citizen as they turned in a ballot.

Wrangell Representative Peggy Wilson knocked out two Ketchikan opponents to win the Republican nomination for the new House District 33 with 46 percent of the 2,145 ballots cast. Ketchikan Democrat Matt Olsen ran unopposed in this race and will face Wilson in the Nov. 6 general election.

There will be no race for either of Juneau's House Districts. Republican Cathy Munoz is unopposed in District 31, which includes Juneau's Mendenhall Valley and airport area. Democrat Beth Kerttula, whose District 32 includes downtown Juneau, Douglas, Petersburg, Skagway and Gustavus will also run unopposed.

Both ballot measures were defeated in this primary. Ballot Measure One, which would allow governments to increase property tax exemptions up to $50,000 was defeated by only 1,148 votes and Ballot Measure Two, which would have implemented a Coastal Zone Management system run by the state failed by over 61 percent of the vote.


Reader Comments