Candidates have filed for borough seats


With the deadline for filing for a position on the Petersburg Borough Assembly, Hospital Board, School Board and Planning Commission coming to an end, the list of candidates has grown. But all positions are still not spoken for.

As of the 5 p.m. deadline Wednesday, the names of people who have filed were Mark Jensen and Don Koenigs for the Mayor seat; Susan Flint, John Havrilek, John Hoag and Nancy Strand for Assembly seats; Tom Abbott, Timothy Koeneman, Rocio Tejera and Darlene Whitethorn for Hospital Board positions.

The petitions and forms for candidacy have to be received by the Division of Elections within seven days of the Oct. 24 postmark.

Ballots for the borough election will be mailed around Nov. 26 and must be returned postmarked by Dec. 18.

If the borough incorporation passes, the city government of Petersburg will be no more and will be replaced by the newly elected Mayor and Assembly members.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2017