Petersburg Pilot -

Whale Watching and LeConte Glacier Tours based out of Petersburg Alaska

Borough Assembly members are sworn in and draw for term length


Shelly Pope

Petersburg Borough Clerk Kathy O’Rear swears in the newly formed Petersburg Borough Assembly before their first meeting Monday evening. Shown here are (left to right) Nancy Strand, John Hoag, seated Borough Manager Steve Giesbrecht, Borough Mayor Mark Jensen, Sue Flint and John Havrilek.

The new Petersburg Borough Assembly Members were sworn in by new Borough Clerk Kathy O’Rear to bring the first Borough Assembly meeting to order.

The first order of business for the assembly was to draw for term lengths for the sitting assembly members.

“These terms will not start counting until October of 2013,” Petersburg Borough Mayor Mark Jensen stated. “Terms being drawn for tonight will end in 2015 and 2016.”

Assembly members Sue Flint and John Hoag drew terms ending in 2016 and Nancy Strand and John Havrilek drew terms ending in 2015.

The position of mayor will continue unt...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Reader Comments


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 05/25/2019 11:57