Editorial: Land bill must give details


Despite the fact that there were specific reasons why the five landless communities of Haines, Ketchikan, Wrangell, Petersburg and Tenakee were not included in the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act of 1971, legislation is being crafted to grant each community 23,040 acres of land from the Tongass.

Natives in these communities did not meet the requirements for inclusion under the legislation. In Petersburg's case, natives from surrounding villages came here to fish and hunt each summer and returned to their homes in surrounding villages.

Formation of an organized village was required under...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023

Rendered 09/27/2023 20:27