All four challengers elected in PIA tribal council election


January 11, 2024

OLIVIA ROSE / Petersburg Pilot

From right to left: Rebecca Lee, Barbara Erickson and Brandon Ware work their way through over 100 ballots cast in the 2024 PIA annual election, each carefully counting up every vote to ensure the numbers match. The voting window closed at 7 p.m. and ballots were counted immediately after.

Tribal members cast over 100 ballots in the annual Petersburg Indian Association election held on Monday - a voter turnout around four times higher than last year.

Four candidates challenged council incumbents for seats, running on a united ticket and winning the race by a large margin according to the unofficial election results.

Debra O'Gara received 74 votes and will be the new council president, serving a one-year term. Incumbent president Cris Morrison received 33 votes.

When the vote for council president was finally counted and announced late Monday night, O'Gara said she felt "relieved...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2024