Petersburg Pilot -

Borough election ballots are here


Over 2500 ballots arrived in the mail Wednesday, Nov. 28 asking voters in the proposed Petersburg Borough boundaries if the City of Petersburg shall be dissolved and a Petersburg Borough shall be incorporated. Ballots were mailed to voters who were registered to vote by August 22, 2012.

According to Alyce Houston, Regional Election Supervisor, the ballots need to be returned to the state in the return envelope and the voter must sign the ballot and include an identifying mark such as date of birth or the last four digits of their social security number as requested on the ballot instructions.

The voter’s signature must be witnessed by another person, who can be a family member, but voters cannot witness their own signature, according to Houston.

Absentee ballots can be cast at the Petersburg City Council Chambers on weekdays from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. beginning Monday, Dec. 3 through Election Day Dec. 18.

Voters may also request a replacement ballot from the city clerk’s office.

Voting results will be available at the Elections office website following their first count on Tuesday, Dec. 18. Houston said another count will be posted on the website on December 28.

Houston noted that people can only vote one way, either in person at the council chambers or by mail.

Ballots that are filled out incorrectly or don’t have the required witness signature will not be counted, according to Houston.

Voters will be asked to vote on whether the home rule Petersburg Borough is incorporated and the election of the initial slate of borough officials for mayor, assembly, school board, planning commission and hospital board.

While Mark Jensen and Don Koenigs names will appear on the ballot for borough mayor, Koenigs has withdrawn from the race and encourages voters to support Jensen.

The candidates for assembly seats are Sue Flint, John R. Havrilek, John Hoag and Nancy Strand. School Board candidates are Jean Ellis and Cheryl File.

Hospital Board candidates are Tom Abbott, Timothy Koeneman, Rocio Tejera and Darlene Whitethorn.

The remaining seats will be filled by appointment if the borough formation is approved.

Those appointed to the positions will also be required to submit financial disclosure forms to the Alaska Public Offices Commission, APOC.

Ballots need to be voted and postmarked on or before Tuesday, Dec. 18.

Persons with questions may contact the elections office at (907) 465-3021 or toll free at 1-888-948-8683.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021

Rendered 11/21/2021 01:32