Seven clergymen named in sexual misconduct allegations

The Diocese of Juneau released the results of an Independent Commission’s review of sexual misconduct allegations made since the diocese was established in 1951.

The commission’s report identifies seven clergymen alleged to have engaged with sexual misconduct involving minors and vulnerable adults.

Named in the report:

Francis A. Cowgill (died in 2000), Javier Gutierrez (dismissed from the clerical state in 2018), Patrick Hurley, Michael Nash (died in 2019), Edmund Penisten, Frederick Raehsler and Henry Leo Sweeney (died in 1959).

In a letter that accompanied the report, Bishop Andrew Bellisar...


Reader Comments(0)

Rendered 06/17/2024 06:42