Assembly votes in opposition of landless legislation


The Petersburg Borough Assembly voted to write a letter opposing proposed legislation that would transfer federal land to new urban corporations formed by five Alaska Native communities in Southeast under the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act during Monday's meeting.

The decision came after Sen. Lisa Murkowski requested a hearing before the Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources on the Unrecognized Southeast Alaska Native Communities Recognition and Compensation Act.

The bill aims to allow the "landless communities" of Haines, Ketchikan, Petersburg, Tenakee, and Wrangell to form ur...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2024

Rendered 05/25/2024 02:56