Keeping the light on at Five Finger Island


November 9, 2023

Olivia Rose / Petersburg Pilot

The Five Finger Lighthouse station stands on the north end of the southernmost island of The Five Fingers, a group of islands located about 37 miles northwest of Petersburg. It is a historical site that dates back to 1902 and presently serves as a beacon for tourism and science.

From atop the helicopter pad at Five Finger Lighthouse station, visitors experience a nearly unobstructed 360-degree vista of Alaska's Inside Passage. The air is rich with the scent of saltwater, the calls of the island's abundant birdlife, and echoes of humpback whales breathing and breaching in Stephens Passage throughout the summer feeding season.

A narrow path leads between the station's 120-year-old boat house and carpenter shop and gently traverses the less-than-three-acre island's green space.

Five Finger Island, the southernmost of a group of islands called The Five Fingers, is lo...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023

Rendered 12/01/2023 10:42